About Us

Boat Magazine is an independent travel and culture publication that focuses on a different, inspiring city for each issue. From Sarajevo to Reykjavik to Lima, Boat Magazine shines a different kind of light on cities with big stories to tell.

For each issue, we physically move to the focus city for a few weeks setting up our studio and working with locals to create the content. The locals get to decide what they want the world to know about their city, and we work day and night to uncover stories that don’t usually get told. This inside/outside approach to a city keeps the perspectives varied and balanced and the overall content raw and often surprising. Digging deep in each city, Boat Magazine presents gritty, honest, inspiring editorial through interviews, features, stunning photography, personal profiles, artwork and fiction.

Our aim is to act as a great big RESET button – changing and updating readers’ perceptions of what the city is actually like. Because we spend a good amount of time in each city, you won’t get the typical fly-by top 10 lists, tourist hotspots or new openings – you’ll actually get to meet the locals, learn some secrets, and be inspired by these cities that are full of life and passion.


Email us:
info@boat-studio.com


Editor
Erin Spens

Contributing Editor 

Zara Miller

Creative Director

Davey Spens

Art Direction & Design
She Was Only – www.shewasonly.co.uk
Luke Tonge – www.luketonge.com
Daniel Cooper – www.daniel-cooper.com

Sub Editor
Francesco Caporusso
Christine Gilland
Madeleine Miller
Jo Stockdale

Film & Special Projects
Jonathan Cherry – www.jonathancherry.net
Tom Eagar – www.tomeagar.tumblr.com
Columbine Goldsmith – www.columbinegoldsmith.com
Miles Langley – mileslangley.com
Sam Rowland –  www.samdidthis.com

Web

She Was Only – www.shewasonly.co.uk 

UK Distributors
MMS LONDON – www.mmslondon.co.uk
Tom Stocker – tom.stocker@mmslondon.co.uk

International Distributors
In house
Email – erin@boat-studio.com


 Kind Words

 “One of the most exciting new titles we’ve seen in a while.
A brilliant concept and equally brilliant execution.”

Design Week

“Not so much a magazine as a nomadic event…
respectful, 
enjoyable and ambitious.”
Huffington Post

“Part of a growing crop of compact, niche magazines.”

New York Times

“A labour of love by people passionate about
design, 
it looks beautiful.”
The Guardian

“Very taken with this magazine that pushes itself 
with an
original ethos, succeeding quite 
spectacularly at its
attempt to present the Bosnian 
city Sarajevo as the
protagonist of their story. 
Some truly lovely bits of writing.”

It’s Nice That

“A great idea for a magazine, allowing creativity 
to
blossom for the cause of good.”
Jeremy Leslie, Magculture

“Still moving, Boat Magazine continues to be 
one
of the most inspiring ventures out there.”
Creative Review